Forgotten

An exercise in writing prose.


Forgotten

Have you ever woken up

Realized that you had forgotten

The sweet taste

Of what we once had

No longer

Am I the breath you breathe

Am I the warmth you seek

Am I the flesh you eat

Am I

We are going through the motions

We float as if in a daze

We care not

We hold together

Like pieces of a puzzle

Too close

Closer

You were once the tears

That streaked down my face

As I cried myself to sleep

You were the grief I did not want

My heart

It aches

And yet you were my joy

My highest of highs

We burned like shining stars

We fell so fast

We danced in internal flame

You set it ablaze

I would pine

I would want

I would need

Where is the sweetest nectar

One I once had

Where is the bitter poison

One I once had

Has it gone and left

Me

Now we have but the solid mountain

Its peak not seen

Its base so firm

Unmovable

Untouched

Steady

Steady

Now

I

Believe

It takes an earthquake

To shatter

To scatter

To break us

Apart

We fought we clawed we strived

Yet we conquered them

And now our victory flag

Stained with blood

I remember now

I remember

Now

The love

We once had

That burned

That ached

Ours

Theirs

I see

The doubts

The hurts

The aches

And I know

We have won

Nothing

But our love


Thank you for reading.

Love, Nicole.

Leave a Reply

