NaNoWriMo Kickoff 2015

P1190890aa

31st of October is always an exciting time for me. Not because it’s Halloween! But because it’s the eve of NaNoWriMo! And for the first time ever, I went to a NaNoWriMo Kickoff! Woot woot!

I’ve joined NaNoWriMo since 2006, and if I remember correctly, I won that year, and for the first time ever, I felt so proud that I actually wrote 50000 words of a novel. My novel that time was never completed, and I have written at least 10 different drafts of the same plot involving the same character. That story will always be ‘my baby’, that one story that will remain my first love. I have placed it at the back of my mind for now, to revisit when I’m older. But yes, NaNoWriMo was the one thing that pushed me into writing that novel that I dreamt of since I was 13.

Since 2006, I’ve joined NaNoWriMo nearly every year, winning sometimes, losing most of the time. This year, I’m determined to win! This Kickoff was definitely the push of confidence I needed.

I was afraid to go alone, so I dragged my sister along despite the fact that she wasn’t joining NaNoWriMo this year. I felt awkward at first, but soon realized that I wasn’t the only one attending this Kickoff for the first time! Calvin and Erna were also super cool. Erna is the ML for the Malaysian region, and Calvin is her co-ML.

We first broke the ice with a little thing called the Plot Game. The plot game is when you take a piece of paper and write a sentence (no more than 10 words) that suitably describes your story/plot for NaNoWriMo. Some of us were pantsers though, but as we all know, one of the sayings of NaNoWriMo is “NO PLOT, NO PROBLEM” so they went ahead and made up a plot on the spot. The piece of paper would then be passed on to the person on the right, and they would have to continue a story with a sentence as well. It could be anything! And so the games begun!

My sister and I had so much fun making up sentences to progress the stories that came our way. It was definitely a great ice breaker for writers.

My story ended up crackier than I would have expected, and I particularly loved this line. “The mirrors organized a period of self-reflection in these harrowing time.” Simply awesome, and I wish I could find a way to insert it into my rather serious and dark novel for NaNoWriMo. Behold the beauty of the plot game below.

Photo Oct 31, 11 03 37 AM

A short synopsis of my novel can be found in this post.

And after an awesome motivational speech from Erna and Calvin, we had a fun time talking to each other about novels, reading and various other topics. I made many new friends today and I’m exceedingly happy about that! I believe that this year, it might be my best year yet!

The road to writing can be lonely, and these amazing writers/friends will help me keep my sanity this November. And so I wrote a poem about it!

Screen shot 2015-10-3a1 at 9.53.47 PM

Yay, may we all be victorious!

Love, Nicole.

p/s: More photos from the Kickoff because I LOVED IT!

12182639_10154264687438098_5634190464812583490_o

Leave a Reply

