NaNoWriMo Day 4

It’s the 4th of November! And I’ve written 10000 words for Mirror Madness!

Screen shot 2015-11-04 at 12.46.07 PM

Screen shot 2015-11-04 at 12.50.00 PM

Yes, that’s right. I’ve actually hit 10k! I haven’t been able to reach 10000 words on any novel that I’ve written for a long time now, and to think that I could write so much these few days pleases me so much!

Of course that’s only because I have the luxury of sitting at home doing nothing but stare at my computer for as long as I want with very little interruptions. I will guard my precious free time dearly because I don’t when I’ll get time off like this again! (It seems I’ll never have free time ever, according to my seniors in my work field. And that is a ghastly thought.)

And for those who follow the blog I thought I’d leave you a little snippet here and there.


Screen shot 2015-11-0n3 at 1.21.08 PM


‘Saranya, Saranya’ the whispers danced around her, and the mirrors, they were no longer showed her own reflection. There were the hands, and this time she could see many monsters. Some had horns above their heads, some had long hands that reached to their legs, but all had luminous eyes, that did not seem real. They shone like jewels, that were meant to lure and consume those who had seen it. They were the stuff of nightmares, and Saranya slowly realized that as they reached out, there was one mirror in front of her that showed a scared little girl.

That is me, she thought. But then again, it wasn’t Saranya. Because Saranya didn’t have luminous eyes like that, and her smile didn’t stretch as widely as that. It was a girl, who was dressed exactly like Saranya, with her long hair in two ponytails by the side of her face, and she stood, smiling mockingly. She too reached out and she moved forward as if to step out of the mirror.


After the whispers, Mun Keat started to notice the shadow creatures in the mirror. They only ever appeared in the mirror, never anywhere else. They were strange creatures, their eyes were more like jewels, like the fake ones that was on the bags that Mum bought from Chow Kit. They sparkled and shone. Maybe they were like mirrors too, reflecting the light around them till it sparkled. They looked so much like mismatched animals like they were cut up from rags and stitched together wrong. Their teeth were like dinosaur teeth. Mun Keat tried not to pay too much attention to them. He pretended they did not exist. His siblings could not see them, of that he was sure. They would continue playing, oblivious to the creatures looking at them.

He would smile and hum, and pretend he could not hear the ragged breathing from the mirror. The voices called out, ‘Look at us, look at us Mun Keat, come, come to us’.


I think those are the only snippets that are worthy to be read by human eyes. The rest seems to be just filth. I often get the feeling that what I’m writing is completely and utterly boring and don’t deserve to be written at all.

Despair!

I am still going to forge forward despite it all, and maybe, just maybe, at the end of this, I’ll get a passable first draft. (I have to stop backspacing and deleting words first.)

Thank you for reading!

Love, Nicole.

Leave a Reply

