Hey Friend

you end up not speaking
you fear making me ‘not nice’
when i’m not that nice
in the first place

you hesitate because 
you think i’m perfect
you don’t want to
corrupt my niceness

i’m not
i just want you to see me
as i am
i’m me

why do you leave me alone
in your insecurities
you cause mine to rise up
and we both drown

we’re both insecure
we both fear
and we both want
the same things

a hand to hold
a shoulder to cry on
a place to be
a friend to cherish

so hold my hand
hug me close
tell me your secrets
and i’ll tell you mine

i’m not nice
i’m not perfect
i’m me
and i want to be
your friend
Leave a Reply

